product review overlay image
Clare Chase - Eve Mallow Mystery Series 6 Book Collection
Clare Chase - Eve Mallow Mystery Series 6 Book Collection
Clare Chase - Eve Mallow Mystery Series 6 Book Collection
Clare Chase - Eve Mallow Mystery Series 6 Book Collection
Clare Chase - Eve Mallow Mystery Series 6 Book Collection

Product Description

Clare Chase - Eve Mallow MysterySeries 6 Book Collection

Mystery on Hidden Lane

Meet Eve Mallow: an American far from home, a professional busybody… and an amateur detective?

Seasoned obituary writer Eve Mallow has a new assignment: to tell the life story of famed musician Bernard Fitzpatrick. A chance to spend a few days in the sweet little village of Saxford St Peter, walking the country lanes with her beloved dachshund Gus and meeting new people sounds like a dream. But it turns out that Bernard’s life was much less interesting than his death. On the day she arrives, news breaks that the charismatic cellist was the victim of a grisly murder. Could this quaint English village be hiding a dark secret?

As Eve starts to interview Bernard’s friends and colleagues, she finds that he’d ruffled a few feathers. In fact, from the keepers of the Cross Keys Inn to his own staff at High House, there’s barely a person in town who doesn’t have some reason to hate him… is one of the friendly villagers a cold-blooded killer?

Eve hoped Saxford St Peter would be the perfect escape from her busy city life. But there is darkness even in the most sunlit of settings. And when a second body is found, Eve becomes certain that one of the people she’s met must be the murderer. She has never done any detective work before… but is there something in her notes that can crack the case?

Mystery at Apple Tree Cottage

Obituary writer and amateur sleuth Eve Mallow is enjoying life in sleepy Saxford St Peter - until a mysterious murder lands right at her door...

It's spring in Saxford St Peter - time to get back in the garden, listen to the birds, and take gentle strolls in the woods. But for some, it's the season for murder.

Eve Mallow is relishing the gentle pace of the village until a new arrival stirs everyone up. Ashton Foley is back: a teenage tearaway turned interior designer to the stars. He's mad, bad and dangerous to know, but charming too - as Eve herself can testify - and every house in Saxford opens its doors to him.

So when he's found murdered in the woods near his mother's home, Apple Tree Cottage, there's no shortage of suspects. A jealous husband? A spurned lover? Or has someone from his past life caught up with him?

The police soon hit on a simple solution, and arrest his mother's partner Howard. Ashton always hated him, and he bears all the marks of a recent fight. But Ashton's mother, miles away in New Zealand, is convinced he's innocent, and enlists Eve's help to prove it.

There's just one problem. Eve saw Howard sniffing around Apple Tree Cottage on the morning of the murder, and she's fairly sure he's guilty, too...

Mystery at Seagrave Hall

The charity fair at Seagrave Hall is a key date in the Saxford St Peter calendar- a chance for the villagers to nose around the house and grounds and cross paths with the rich and famous. New resident Eve Mallow is particularly excited by this year's special guest: the explorer Verity Nye, who is engaged to the heir to the Hall. Eve loves Verity's determination, and she can't wait to meet her. But when they talk, Verity hints that she has something troubling on her mind. So after the festive mood is tragically interrupted by Verity's fall from a third-floor window, Eve can't be sure that it's an appalling accident. Especially when one small boy claims he saw someone behind her.

Mystery at the Old Mill

When the calm of Saxford St Peter is disrupted by a deadly fire at the Old Mill, amateur sleuth Eve Mallow finds herself investigating a most surprising mystery!

Everyone in Saxford St Peter is desperate to know more about Harry Tennant, the newcomer who owns the Old Mill. He usually keeps himself to himself, but he's finally invited the villagers round for drinks, and Eve Mallow isn't the only one looking forward to having some questions answered.

But two days before the party, a terrible fire sweeps through the mill, and Harry is found dead. When Eve passes the burned remains of his beautiful house, she can't resist the call to investigate. Especially when it turns out quiet, charming Harry was living a double life as the famous advice writer Pippa Longford. Eve has to wonder what revelations were contained in the letters he received... and whether one of them was worth killing for.

Accompanied by her reliable dachshund sidekick Gus, Eve starts digging. She soon realises Harry was at the centre of a web of lives - and lies. There's an uncle desperate to inherit, two women who thought they were his one and only, not to mention everyone who shared their darkest secrets with him. Was one of those strangers much closer to home than Harry knew? And can Eve untangle the truth before she finds herself face to face with a killer?

Mystery at the Abbey Hotel

Eve Mallow’s stay at the luxurious Abbey Hotel takes a turn for the suspicious when the owner is murdered – leaving Eve surrounded by suspects! 

Saxford St Peter is Eve Mallow’s beloved home, but she can’t resist the chance to spend a weekend in the nearby Abbey Hotel, famed for its glamorous owner Debra Moran and an array of celebrity guests. For a confirmed people-watcher like Eve, it’s perfect: she can observe the rich and famous while sipping tea in the gardens, her faithful dachshund Gus by her side.

But her relaxing break takes a shocking turn when Debra is found lying dead in the shadowy woods around the hotel. One of Eve’s fellow guests didn’t come to the Abbey for fine food and delightful décor – but to kill.

When the investigation gets underway, Eve finds herself trapped with a wide range of suspects. Could it be Debra’s new friend Harper, who inherits everything? Her ex-husband Chester, still seething over their messy divorce? Or her estranged sister Amelia, who came hoping for reconciliation, only for Debra to shut the door in her face?

As Eve roams the hotel, searching for clues and hunting down alibis, she uncovers a whole host of secrets. But can she find the truth before the killer brings her holiday to a deadly end?

A completely unputdownable page-turner, perfect for fans of Faith Martin, Agatha Christie and Joy Ellis.

Mystery at the Church

When a TV drama crew descends on sleepy Saxford St Peter, Eve Mallow joins the excited throng of extras in a funeral scene. But then a real body is found... and Eve gets a starring role as sleuth!

Eve Mallow is looking forward to her fifteen minutes of fame when Saxford St Peter is chosen as the location for a new drama series. A devoted people-watcher, Eve is thrilled to learn that TV stars are just as glamorous - and tempestuous - as she's always imagined.

But then someone delivers a bouquet of poisonous flowers to the director Rufus Beaumont, making Eve worry that some of the rivalries she's noticed are deadly serious. And when Rufus's body is found in the church where the funeral scene took place, it's clear that someone's out for the kill in real life.

Eve and dachshund Gus have been on the ground from the start, and now they're on the case, interrogating the suspects one by one. Is it the devastating diva whose relationship with Rufus was far from professional? The cameraman who caught Rufus doing something he shouldn't? Or the groupie groundskeeper who's in the background of every shot? One thing's for sure - Eve must catch the killer before she stars in their next murderous production...

Specifications

Author
Clare Chase
Identifier Exists
CC6
Format
Paperback
Condition
New
Product Code
CC6
Weight
1.75kg

Customer Reviews

Clare Chase - Eve Mallow Mystery Series 6 Book Collection

Item in Stock (8 Available)

Product Code CC6