product review overlay image

Product Description

Paperback, ISBN 9781804364789

'This is first class' The Times

'A highly accomplished novel from a new writer of great promise' Financial Times

'A stunning debut' Maxim Jakubowski, Crime Time

‘A marvellously confident debut, sharply observed and exceptionally well written’ Charles Cumming, author of Box 88

Everyone knows about the Cambridge Spies from the Fifties, identified and broken up after passing national secrets to the Soviets for years. But no spy ring was ever unearthed at Oxford. Because one never existed? Or because it was never found…?

2022: Former spy Simon Sharman is eking out a living in the private sector. When a commission to delve into the financial dealings of a mysterious Russian oligarch comes across his desk, he jumps at the chance.

But as Simon investigates, worrying patterns begin to emerge. His subject made regular trips to Oxford, but for no apparent reason. There are payments from offshore accounts that suddenly just… stop.

Has he found what none of his former colleagues believed possible, a Russian spy ring now nestled at the heart of the British Establishment? Or is he just another paranoid ex-spook left out in the cold, obsessed with redemption?

From Oxford’s hallowed quadrangles to brush contacts on Hampstead Heath, agent-running in Vienna and mysterious meetings in Prague, A Spy Alone is a gripping international thriller and a searing portrait of modern Britain in the age of cynical populism. Perfect for readers of Charles Cumming, Mick Herron and John le Carré.

‘Beaumont’s debut novel has such a ring of authenticity about it that it reads like an inside job... The story is gripping and the characters are all well drawn. Highly recommended’ Alex Gerlis, author of the Wolf Pack series

Specifications

Format
Paperback
Author
Charles Beaumont
GTIN
9781804364789
Publisher
Canelo
Issue Date
2023
Condition
New
Product Code
9781804364789
Weight
0.3kg

Customer Reviews

Charles Beaumont- A Spy Alone

Item in Stock (10 Available)

Product Code 9781804364789